News: Awards


2022 Breakthrough Prize Winners Announced

September 10, 2021

Shaw Prize Lecture Announced

May 13, 2021

Benson Farb and Amie Wilkinson Named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 23, 2021

Noether Lecture Speaker Announced

February 16, 2021

Marianna Csornyei will be giving the 2022 AWM-AMS Noether lecture on
"The Kakeya problem for recitifable sets" at the annual joint meeting
in January 2022.


Spencer Bloch receives Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement

November 19, 2020

Wirszup and Kowalsky Prize Winners Announced

May 21, 2020

The Wirszup Fellowship was established in 2012 in memory of Izaak Wirszup, a beloved member of our department and of the university community for many years, who had worked tirelessly towards improving the quality of mathematics education over the decades. The award is given to an excellent finishing graduate student.  The recipients this year are Alan Chang and Lvzhou Chen

The Kowalsky Fellowship provides support for a graduate student, who is doing excellent research towards her dissertation. The award is established through a bequest from Walter and Yvonne Kowalsky in memory of their daughter Nadine Kowalsky, who died of leukemia in 1996. Nadine graduated from the University of Chicago in 1994 with a dissertation directed by Robert Zimmer. The recipient this year is Mathilde Gerbelli-Gauthier.

Simion Filip Wins 2020 EMS Prize

May 11, 2020

Andre Neves and Alexander Razborov Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 27, 2020

Mathematically Gifted & Black Honoree

February 6, 2020

Department Chair Kevin Corlette has been named a 2020 Honoree by Mathematically Gifted & Black.


Levi L. Conant Prize

October 31, 2019

Amie Wilkinson has won the 2020 Levi L. Conant Prize.

Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

September 5, 2019

Alex Eskin has won the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics.

Academia Europaea

August 14, 2019

Amie Wilkinson has been selected as a Member of Academia Europaea

Maryanthe Malliaris wins Quantrell

May 30, 2019

Undergraduate math major honored by Association for Women in Mathematics

May 23, 2019

Undergraduate honored by Association for Women in Mathematics

Marianna Csörnyei elected to Hungarian Academy of Sciences

May 23, 2019

Marianna Csörnyei elected to Hungarian Academy of Sciences