Benjamin A. Blander Prize

The Benjamin A. Blander Prize is awarded to an outstanding incoming graduate student in the Department of Mathematics

  • 2019-20 Recipient: Devon Ingram
  • 2020-21 Recipient: Linus Setiabrata
  • 2021-22 Recipient: Samanda Zhang
  • 2023-24 Recipient: Yuqin Kewang

Kowalsky Fellowship

The Kowalsky Fellowship provides support for a graduate student, preferably a woman, who is doing excellent research towards her dissertation. The award is established through a bequest from Walter and Yvonne Kowalsky in memory of their daughter Nadine Kowalsky, who died of leukemia in 1996. Nadine graduated from the University of Chicago in 1994 with a dissertation directed by Robert Zimmer.

  • 2007 Recipient: Irene Peng
  • 2009 Recipients: Elizabeth Beazley and Rachel Epstein
  • 2010 Recipients: Ariel Barton and Anna Marie Bohmann
  • 2012 Recipient: Elizabeth Blair Davey
  • 2013 Recipient: Kathryn Mann
  • 2014 Recipient: Katharine Turner
  • 2016 Recipient: Asilata Bapat
  • 2018 Recipient: Lei Chen
  • 2020 Recipient: Mathilde Gerbelli-Gauthier
  • 2022 Recipient: Hana Jia Kong
  • 2023 Recipient: Soohyun Park
  • 2024 Recipients: Meg Doucette & Chengyang Bao

Wirszup Fellowship

The Wirszup fellowship was established in 2012 in memory of Izaak Wirszup, a beloved member of our department and of the university community for many years, who had worked tirelessly towards improving the quality of mathematics education over the decades.

  • 2023-2024 Recipient: Andreea Iorga
  • 2022-2023 Recipient: William Cooperman
  • 2021-2022 Recipient: Jonathan DeWitt
  • 2020-2021 Recipient: Kiho Park
  • 2019-2020 Recipient: Alan Chang and Lvzhou Chen
  • 2018-2019 Recipient: Binglu Chen
  • 2017-2018 Recipient: Clark Butler
  • 2016-2017 Recipients: Casey Rodriguez, Jonathan Wang
  • 2014-2015 Recipients: Max Engelstein, Simion Filip
  • 2012-2013 Recipient: Andrew Lawrie, Alex Wright
  • 2011-2012 Recipient: Matthew Strom Borman
  • 2008-2009 Recipients: Elizabeth Townsend Beazley, Rachel Epstein

William Rainey Harper Dissertation Fellowship

This is the highest honor that the University of Chicago offers to any graduate student. The fellowship is awarded in the final year of graduate study to help the student concentrate on thesis completion.

  • 2019-2020 Recipient: Minh-Tam Quang Trinh
  • 2020-2021 Recipient: Leonardo Coregliano (Joint Math/CS Program)
  • 2021-2022 Recipient: Peter Morfe
  • 2022-2023 Recipient:
  • 2023-2024 Recipient: Eun Bi (Seraphina) Lee

Radix Trading Prize

The Radix Trading Prize is awarded to an outstanding student in the final stages of their degree.

  • 2023-2024 Recipient: Iqra Altaf
  • 2022-2023 Recipient: Isabella Scott
  • 2021-2022 Recipient: Joshua Mundinger
  • 2020-2021 Recipient: Jonathan DeWitt
  • 2019-2020 Recipient: Ronno Das